Ayrton Senna-Estoril,Portugal

553 Laps Led
13 Pole Positions
8 Victories
1988 World Champion

A GORDON MURRAY-PETER WEISMANN design, the McLAREN MP4/4 totally dominated the opposition in 1988. Ayrton Senna and Alain Prost won 15 out of the 16 races held. Together they led 1003 out of 1078 laps and earned 15 pole positions.
This car is the direct decendant of the laydown
Brabham Bt55. Initially, the Mclaren design team resisted our transverse technology, so the first 3 shaft longitudinal transaxle was designed by Pete Weismann to allow Gordon Murray to design the MP4/4 as low as possible. Honda's tiny 1.5 liter V6 turbocharged engine complemented the package beautifully.
The success of our longitudinal freed us to design the transverse. This picture shows how much smaller and compact our transverse is compared the longitudinal. Initially, the MP4/5A used the longitudinal. Then the MP4/5B was introduced mid-season with the transverse. The MP4/5 won the World Championship, winning 14 out of 16 races. Since then, transverse transmissions have become the norm in the F1 pitlane.

Transverse and Longitudinal

MP4/5B Transverse
MP4/4 Longitudinal

Ayrton Senna-Spa,Belgium

Ayrton Senna on his way to victory!
Spa, Belgium 1989

Ayrton Senna-Monza,Italy

Ayrton Senna fastest in testing at Monza in 1990.
The MP4/5B's low profile can be seen clearly here.

Gerhard Berger and Ayrton Senna

Gerhard Berger and Ayrton Senna with the MP4/6.


Traction Products, Inc. & Weismann Marine, LLC.
1728 Monrovia St. Costa Mesa, Ca. 92627
Tel: 949-645-4064 Fax: 949-645-2424

All product names, trademarks and registered trademarks are the property of their respective owners.

Copyright 2007 Weismann Transmissions.
All rights reserved.